Ms. Hockey award

What is the Ms. Hockey Award?

With the success of the Mr. Hockey Award over the years, it only seemed natural to honor the top senior playing girls’ hockey in Minnesota with a similar award.

In 1997, Let’s Play Hockey held the inaugural Ms. Hockey Award banquet, honoring the second-ever Ms. Hockey, Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley. The inaugural award went to Roseville’s Winny Brodt as part of the Mr. Hockey banquet in 1996. Most recently, Madeline Wethington of Blake (pictured at left) was announced as the winner of the 2019 Ms. Hockey Award. The banquet has more than exceeded expectations, as attendance to celebrate the conclusion of the girls’ high school hockey season is annually in the range of 400-500 people.

Ms. Hockey is presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player in the state, based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

The Ms. Hockey candidates are identified based on nominations by their coaches. The selection of the top 10 candidates, then the five finalists, and ultimately the winner, is based on consultations with a panel of Division I and III college women’s coaches from the states of Minnesota and Wisconsin, as well as a panel of high school coaches. The same process is used to select the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award winner.

Madeline Wethington, a senior defenseman on the Blake School girls’ hockey team, was named the winner of the 24th annual Ms. Hockey Award by Let’s Play Hockey newspaper at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. The award, presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player in Minnesota, is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

Considered one of the top players in the nation in her age group, Madeline Wethington ranked fourth on her team in scoring with totals of 21-32—53 in 28 games, helping the Bears to the No. 2 ranking in Class AA. An elite defenseman, Wethington will graduate as one of the most decorated girls’ high school hockey players of all time. She won three state championships (2014, 2016, 2017) and one runner-up title (2015), and has been named all-state four times. Additionally, Wethington is a three-time gold medalist for the U.S. Women’s National Under-18 Team. She was the only high school player invited to train with the national team over the holiday break this season. 

This season, Wethington posted 16 multi-point games and was held without a point just once in 28 games. She will continue her hockey career at the University of Minnesota.

“Madeline has been on the Blake varsity team since 7th grade and has been a standout every season,” Reid said. “Her dedication to self-improvement is unmatched. It’s been a lot of fun and a privilege to watch her continually grow as a player and person.”

Away from hockey, Wethington owns a 3.8 GPA and last year earned the Harvard Book Prize for the student who displays excellence in scholarship and high character, combined with achievement in other fields.

“Madeline is acutely aware of the opportunities she has received through the sport and has done much to give back to hockey,” Reid said. “She recognizes that the sport is bigger than any one person and that it is the individual’s responsibility to carry on tradition and success for the future generations.”  

The other finalists for Ms. Hockey were forwards CC Bowlby of Edina, Izzy Daniel of Blake and Kelsey King of Elk River/Zimmerman, and defenseman Kaitlyn Kotlowski of Warroad.

Past winners: Taylor Heise of Red Wing (2018), Grace Zumwinkle of Breck (2017), Presley Norby of Minnetonka (2016), Taylor Williamson of Edina (2015), Sydney Baldwin of Minnetonka (2014), Dani Cameranesi of Blake (2013), Hannah Brandt of Hill-Murray (2012), Karley Sylvester of Warroad (2011), Bethany Brausen of Roseville (2010) Becky Kortum of Hopkins (2009), Sarah Erickson of Bemidji (2008), Katharine Chute of Blake (2007), Allie Thunstrom of North St. Paul (2006), Gigi Marvin of Warroad (2005), Erica McKenzie of Hastings (2004), Andrea Nichols of Hibbing/Chisholm (2003), Ashley Albrecht of South St. Paul (2002), Renee Curtin of Roseville (2001), Krissy Wendell of Park Center (2000), Ronda Curtin of Roseville (1999), Laura Slominski of Burnsville (1998), Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley (1997) and Winny Brodt of Roseville (1996).

The 24th annual award, selected based on votes from a panel of high school coaches and Division I and III college coaches from Minnesota and Wisconsin, is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, GoodWood Hockey and OS Hockey.

Ms. Hockey Award Winners

1996 — Winny Brodt, Roseville, D
1997 — Annamarie Holmes, Apple Valley, D
1998 — Laura Slominski, Burnsville, F
1999 — Ronda Curtin, Roseville, D
2000 — Krissy Wendell, Park Center, F
2001 — Renee Curtin, Roseville, F
2002 — Ashley Albrecht, South St. Paul, D
2003 — Andrea Nichols, Hibbing, F
2004 — Erica McKenzie, Hastings, F
2005 — Gigi Marvin, Warroad, F
2006 — Allie Thunstrom, North St. Paul, F
2007 — Katharine Chute, Blake, F
2008 — Sarah Erickson, Bemidji, F
2009 — Becky Kortum, Hopkins, F
2010 — Bethany Brausen, Roseville, F
2011 — Karley Sylvester, Warroad, F
2012 — Hannah Brandt, Hill-Murray, F
2013 — Dani Cameranesi, Blake, F
2014 — Sydney Baldwin, Minnetonka, D
2015 — Taylor Williamson, Edina, F
2016 — Presley Norby, Minnetonka, F
2017 — Grace Zumwinkle, Breck, F
2018 — Taylor Heise, Red Wing, F
2019 — Madeline Wethington, Blake, D

Ms. Hockey Award Winners