2023 Reed Larson Award Winner: Chase Cheslock – Rogers

Chase Cheslock (middle) was awarded the Reed Larson Award at the Let’s Play Hockey Expo Friday. He is pictured with (from left) Coach Dave Brown; his mother, Denise; brother, Brock; and father, Sean. Cheslock is the 11th winner of the award.

Rogers defenseman Chase Cheslock was named the Reed Larson Award winner by Let’s Play Hockey Friday. The award is given to the state’s top senior defenseman.

Cheslock emerged from a strong list of candidates to win the 11th annual award.

The 6’3″ 205-pound University of St. Thomas commit achieved numerous accomplishments during his three years as a varsity player, recording 78 points. Cheslock was named all-conference twice and was a member of the All-Metro squad. He is also one of 10 Mr. Hockey Finalists, and helped lead his team to the section finals this season. He’s also a Great 8 selection, a member of the Minnesota Elite League, NTDP player, and was drafted in the USHL by Omaha. he played 18 games for the NAHL St. Cloud Norsemen this fall. he is also one of 10 finalists for the coveted Mr. Hockey Award.

Cheslock was a two-year captain for Rogers, and after a 39-point junior season, finished with 30 points with 26 assists this year for the Royals. He has 78 points in his career. In addition to his on-ice ability, he has also played an integral role off the ice.

“He is a leader, winner, and superstar,” Said Head coach Dave Brown. “He is the best player every night and a leader in the community every day.”

Cheslock is part of a group of players that has helped the Rogers program emerge as a perennial contender in Class AA hockey, leading them to a top 10-ranking this season.

“He built the Rogers Hockey program into what it has become and will continue to grow into,” said Brown.

At 6’3″, Cheslock has a combination of size and skill, dubbed a breakout  machine by Coach Brown.

Brown said Cheslock’s commitment to get better each and every day has helped made him the player he has become. Brown pointed out how Cheslock, the team’s captain, was the one who carried the back up sticks after their section final loss.

“He is a relentless leader that demands the best out of everybody day in and day out, including the coaching staff. He is the definition of what Minnesota High School hockey is all about,” Said Brown.

Finalists for the Reed Larson Award included: Ryan Koering (Eden Prairie), George Peterson (Hermantown), Liam Hupka (Minnetonka), Simon Hogue (Cretin-Derham Hall), Lucas Marganeu (Maple Grove), Charlie Sandven (Edina), Tristen May-Robinson (Andover) and Tyler Lafferty (Lakeville South).

Past recipients include: 2022 Leo Gruba (Hill-Murray), 2021 Jack Peart (Grand Rapids), 2020 Wyatt Kaiser (Andover), 2019 Mike Koster (Chaska), 2018 Luke LaMaster (Duluth East), 2017 Dylan Samberg (Hermantown), 2016 Wyatt Aamodt (Hermantown), 2015 Jacob Olson (Hill-Murray), 2014 Luc Snuggerud (Eden Prairie), Jake Bischoff (Grand Rapids).

About the Reed Larson Award

In hockey, forwards and goaltenders tend to get the most attention with their gaudy offensive numbers and highlight-reel saves, respectively. Meanwhile, on the blue line are those who play tough defense, guard the front of the net and start the offensive rush up the ice.

No award existed exclusively for Minnesota’s top high school blueliners. With that in mind in 2013, Let’s Play Hockey created the Reed Larson Award to annually honor the state’s top senior boys’ high school defenseman.

Reed Larson, a native of Minneapolis, played on the blue line for Minneapolis Roosevelt High School and the University of Minnesota, followed by 904 regular season games in the NHL, most notably as a captain of the Detroit Red Wings. He finished his career with 685 points and is now enshrined in the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.

The winner of the Reed Larson Award is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

The winner of the Reed Larson Award is presented each March at one of the Boys’ Hockey State Tournament Banquets at Roy Wilkins Auditorium.

Reed Larson Award Winners