What is the LPH Senior Goalie of the Year Award?

With the success of the Ms. Hockey Award, it only seemed natural to honor the top senior playing girls’ hockey goaltender in Minnesota with a similar award.

In 1999, Let’s Play Hockey established the Senior Goalie of the Year Award with Katie Beauduy of Blaine named the first winner. Every year since, the award has been presented at the Ms. Hockey Award banquet. Most recently, Calla Frank of White Bear Lake (pictured at left) was named the 2019 Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year.

The Senior Goalie of the Year Award is presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey goaltender in the state, based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

The candidates are identified based on nominations by their coaches. The selection of the top 10 candidates, then the five finalists, and ultimately the winner, is based on consultations with a panel of Division I and III college women’s coaches from the states of Minnesota and Wisconsin, as well as a panel of high school coaches.

Calla Frank of White Bear Lake Area High School has been named the 2019 Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year, the newspaper announced at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. The award is presented annually to the top senior goalie in Minnesota girls’ high school hockey.

A mainstay in the White Bear Lake net for five seasons, Calla Frank was the goalie of record for nearly 80 percent of games since the beginning of her eighth-grade year. Frank compiled a career record of 60-45-7 with 21 shutouts, ranking first in school history in both wins and shutouts. This season, she posted 13-14-3 overall record with a 2.01 goals-against average, a .944 save percentage and four shutouts.

Frank faced the fifth-most shots in the state during the regular season (887) and made 30 more saves in 18 games on the year, including a 56-save effort in a 3-2 win over Stillwater on Dec. 15. Despite the number of shots faced, she allowed two or fewer goals in 19 games on the season. A member of the gold medal-winning U.S. Women’s National Under-18 Team at the 2018 IIHF World U18 Championship, Frank will continue her hockey career at Minnesota State in the fall.

“Calla is an intense and extremely competitive athlete who strives to accomplish the impossible,” White Bear Lake head coach Jerry Kwapick said. “She is a fabulous athlete who pushes herself to be the best she can at everything she participates in. Regardless of our challenges, Calla gives our team the chance to win every game with her consistent beyond-belief performances.”

Off the ice, Frank owns a 3.8 GPA and has been an avid volunteer with a number of organizations, including Toys for Tots, Adopt a Family and the local youth hockey association.

“Calla is a very unselfish individual who always puts the needs of others in front of her own,” Kwapick said. “She derives great satisfaction from assisting others in need and helping them achieve their personal goals. Calla’s efforts and results off the ice are very similar to the success she has enjoyed on the ice.”

The Senior Goalie of the Year Award is based on nominations from high school coaches and is selected based on votes from a panel of high school coaches and Division I and III women’s college coaches. The award is based on the following criteria: academics, community/ extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

The other finalists for the award were Quinn Kuntz of Warroad, Lucy Morgan of Maple Grove, Makayla Pahl of Rochester Mayo and Taylor Smith of Mound Westonka.

This is the 21st year of the LPH Goalie of the Year award. Previous winners: Alexa Dobchuk of Eden Prairie (2018), Breanna Blesi of Maple Grove (2017), Jenna Brenneman of Breck (2016), Frances Marshall of Thief River Falls (2015), Erin O’Neil of Hopkins (2014), Sydney Rossman of Minnetonka (2013), Erika Allen of Roseville (2012), Julie Friend of Minnetonka (2011), Kallie Billadeau of Hopkins (2010) Laura Bellamy of Duluth (2009), Alyssa Grogan of Eagan (2008), Ashley Nixon of Blaine (2007), Alannah McCready of Centennial (2006), Johanna Ellison of Cloquet/Esko/Carlton (2005), Emily Brookshaw of Hill-Murray (2004), Robin Doepke of Chaska (2003), Amber Hasbargen of Warroad (2002), Jody Horak of Blaine (2001), Shari Vogt of River Lakes (2000) and Katie Beauduy of Blaine (1999).

The award is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, GoodWood Hockey and OS Hockey.

LPH Senior Goalie of the Year Award Winners

1999 — Katie Beauduy, Blaine
2000 — Shari Vogt, River Lakes
2001 — Jody Horak, Blaine
2002 — Amber Hasbargen, Warroad
2003 — Robin Doepke, Chaska
2004 — Emily Brookshaw, Hill-Murray
2005 — Johanna Ellison, Cloquet/Esko/Carlton
2006 — Alannah McCready, Centennial
2007 — Ashley Nixon, Blaine
2008 — Alyssa Grogan, Eagan
2009 — Laura Bellamy, Duluth Northern Stars
2010 — Kallie Billadeau, Hopkins
2011 — Julie Friend, Minnetonka
2012 — Erika Allen, Roseville
2013 — Sydney Rossman, Minnetonka
2014 — Erin O’Neil, Hopkins
2015 — Frances Marshall, Thief River Falls
2016 — Jenna Brenneman, Breck
2017 — Breanna Blesi, Maple Grove
2018 — Alexa Dobchuk, Eden Prairie
2019 — Calla Frank, White Bear Lake
2020 – Anna LaRose, North Wright County
2021 – Brynn Dulac, Minnetonka HS
2022 – Maggie Malecha, Northfield HS

LPH Senior Goalie of the Year History