Gustavus was first MIAC team to win national title

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) women's hockey teams are
back on the ice for the start of the 2023-24 season.

For the first time in history, the reigning NCAA Division III women’s hockey national champion hails from the MIAC, as Gustavus claimed the program’s first-ever national title last winter.

The 2023-24 regular season began on Friday, October 27 with a handful of non-conference contests. The first conference contest of the season is scheduled for Thursday, November 9, with the regular season set to run through Saturday, February 17. Teams are scheduled for 18 conference contests with two games against every MIAC opponent.

The top five teams at the end of the regular season will head to the 2024 MIAC Women’s Hockey Playoffs. The quarterfinal round is scheduled for Wednesday, February 21, with the semifinals set for Saturday, February 24, and the championship game slated for Saturday, March 2. The winner of the MIAC Playoffs will receive the conference’s automatic bid to the 2024 NCAA Division III Women’s Hockey Championships.

Gustavus*#%^ (17-1-0, 27-3-0)
Augsburg (14-3-1, 18-7-2)
Saint Benedict (11-7-0, 14-12-0)
St. Olaf (10-7-1, 14-10-2)
Hamline (8-9-1, 10-16-1)
St. Catherine (6-10-2, 12-11-2)
St. Scholastica (7-11-0, 9-15-1)
Bethel (5-13-0, 8-16-0)
Saint Mary’s (5-11-2, 8-15-2)
Concordia (3-14-1, 6-18-1)*MIAC Regular Season Champion
#MIAC Playoff Champion
%NCAA Championship Participant
^NCAA Champion

MIAC Leaders 2022-23


Goals                                                        GP  G

Assists                                                     GP  A

Plus/Minus                                             GP  +/-


MIAC men’s and women’s hockey teams will continue to utilize a points system to order conference standings in 2023-24. Victories achieved in regulation are worth three points, while overtime or shootout wins are worth two points. Losses in either overtime or a shootout are worth one point each. Playoff tiebreakers are also suited to fit the points system.The 2023-24 season is a “non-rule change year.” The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Ice Hockey Committee established several rule changes ahead of the 2022-23 season that will remain in effect for 2023-24.

The MIAC Sports Network powered by Hudl launched in August and will be the streaming home of all MIAC-hosted games, events, and championships. The MIAC Sports Network is available on the web ( along with streaming apps for television and mobile devices, including Android TV, Apple TV, Amazon Fire, Roku (TV), iOS, Android (mobile), and Amazon Fire Tablet. The app can be found and installed free of charge by searching for the MIAC Sports Network.

The MIAC has a mobile app in partnership with SIDEARM Sports. The app is free to fans and can be downloaded on both the Apple App Store and the Google Play Store for Android devices.

MIAC coaches will vote on the 2023-24 MIAC Women’s Hockey All-Conference honors at the conclusion of the regular season. In addition to a 20-player All-MIAC squad, coaches will also vote on individual awards for the MIAC Offensive, Defensive, Rookie, and Coach of the Year.Throughout the regular season, the MIAC will recognize top individual performances with the MIAC Women’s Hockey Offensive and Defensive Players of the Week awards. Athlete of the Week awards will begin on Monday, October 30, and be announced each Monday following through the end of the regular season. During the week following the MIAC Playoffs, participating coaches will also select a 10-player All-Playoff Team to recognize outstanding performances throughout the conference tournament.

First Conference Game Date: Thursday, November 9
MIAC Playoffs: Wednesday, February 21 (Quarterfinals), Saturday, February 24 (Semifinals), Saturday, March 2 (Championship)
Season LinksStandings | Schedule | News | Statistics | Athletes of the Week | Playoffs | Record Book