Hagen Burrows is the 40th recipient of the Mr. Hockey Award. LPH PHOTO BY BRYAN ZOLLMAN

Burrows becomes 40th recipient of Mr. Hockey Award

Hagen Burrows of Minnetonka was awarded the Mr. Hockey award Sunday by the Minnesota Sports Alliance. Burrows is the 40th player to receive the prestigious award as Minnesota’s top high school player.

Burrows helped lead Minnetonka to a state championship in 2023 and led them on a 47-game unbeaten streak before losing in this year’s section final to Chanhassen. Burrows possesses both size and skill and is an electric playmaker with goal-scoring ability. This season he led the Skippers in points with 59 on 19 goals and 40 assists. He had 25 goals and 25 assists as a junior and in his career has compiled 58 goals and 77 assists for 135 points in 86 games. At 6’2″ he plays big and is a strong skater with good hands and vision on the ice.

He emerged form a strong list of candidates who included: Javon Moore (Minnetonka), Jackson Nevers (Edina), Carson Pilgrim (Warroad), Nolan Roed (White Bear Lake), John Stout (Minnetonka), Gavin Uhlenkamp (Chanhassen), Noah Urness (Roseau), Rhys Wallin (Wayzata) and Louis Wehmann (Providence).

Burrows also averaged a point a game in the USHL with six goals and 10 assists in 16 games for the Sioux City Musketeers. He is committed to play college hockey at the University of Denver.

2024 Mr. Hockey Finalists:


Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners:




2023Jayson ShaugabayWarroad
2022Max StrandRoseau High School
2021Jack PeartGrand Rapids H.S.
2020Blake BiondiHermantown H.S.
2019Bryce BrodzinskiBlaine High School
2018Sammy WalkerEdina High School
2017Casey MittelstadtEden Prairie H.S.
2016Riley TufteBlaine H.S.
2015Jake JaremkoElk River H.S
2014Avery PetersonGrand Rapids
2013Grant BesseBenilde-St. Margaret’s
2012Justin KloosLakeville South
2011Kyle RauEden Prairie
2010Nick BjugstadBlaine
2009Nick LeddyEden Prairie
2008Aaron NessRoseau
2007Ryan McDonaghCretin-Derham Hall
2006David FischerApple Valley
2005Brian LeeMoorehead
2004Tom GorwskyCentennial
2003Nate DeyNorth St. Paul
2002Gino GuyerGreenway (Coleraine)
2001Marty SertichRoseville
2000Paul MartinElk River
1999Jeff TaffeHastings
1998Johnny PohlRed Wing
1997Aaron MiskovichGrand Rapids
1996David SpeharDuluth East
1995Erik RasmussenSt. Louis Park
1994Mike CrowleyBloomington Jefferson
1993Nick CheccoBloomington Jefferson
1992Brian BoninWhite Bear Lake
1991Darby HendricksonRichfield
1990Joe DziedzicMinneapolis Edison
1989Trent KlattOsseo
1988Larry OlimbWarroad
1987Kris MillerGreenway (Coleraine)
1986George PelawaBemidji
1985Tom ChorskeMinneapolis Southwest


Frank Brimsek Award: Kam Hendrickson, Chanhassen

Chanhassen’s Kam Hendrickson took home the Frank Brimsek Award given to the state’s top senior netminder. Hendrickson led the Storm to the state tournament with an epic performance against top-ranked Minnetonka in the section finals where he stopped 44 shots in a 2-1 victory. He led the Storm to the state title game against Edina and finished the season with 23-6-0 record with a 1.01 goals against average and a .951 save percentage. In his career at Chanhassen he started 65 games and compiled a 46-19-0 record with 18 shutouts and a .928 save percentage. He is currently uncommitted.

Hendrickson was one of three finalists along with Minnetonka’s Hunter Bauer and Proctor’s A.J. Reyelts.

Hendrickson was magnificent in the section final against Minnetonka and finished the season with a .951 save percentage. LPH PHOTO BY JEFF ANDERSON

Previous Brimsek Award Winners:


Award Winner


1995Todd KelzenbergBlaine
1996Karl GoehringApple Valley
1997Kyle Kolquist Duluth East
1998Adam CooleDuluth East
1999Adam LaaksonenCloquet
2000Jake BrantRoseau
2001Eric AarnioWhite Bear Lake
2002Josh JohnsonCloquet
2003Jon AndersonWhite Bear Lake
2004Matt LundinApple Valley
2005Alec RichardsBreck
2006Austin LeeBloomington Jefferson
2007Reid EllingsonCloquet
2008Joe PhillippiHill-Murray
2009Casey O’ConnorBloomington Jefferson
2010Zane GothbergThief River Falls
2011Alex LyonLake of the Woods
2012Michael BitzerMoorhead
2013David ZevnikSaint Thomas Academy
2014Hunter ShepardGrand Rapids
2015Dyllan LubbesmeyerBurnsville
2016Nick AlthausSt. Cloud Apollo
2017Jake BegleyHill-Murray
2018Atticus KellySaint Thomas Academy
2019Charlie GlocknerMinnetonka
2020Hudson HodgesMoorhead
2021Jack WienekeMaple Grove
2022Ben DardisMahtomedi
2023Hampton SlukynskyWarroad

Reed Larson Award: John Stout, Minnetonka

Minnetonka’s John Stout received the Reed Larson Award as the state’s top senior defenseman. Stout was one of six finalists along with Chanhassen’s Owen Buesgens, Edina’s Barrett Dexheimer, Warroad’s Ryan Lund, Wayzata’s Hawke Huff and Benilde-St. Margaret’s Mason Stenger.

Stout helped lead the Skippers to a 2023 state championship and was an integral part of a strong defensive core that helped the Skippers go unbeaten in 47 games. A strong and sturdy defenseman, Stout is a two-way player with strong skating and puck handling skills. His size (6’1″/193) gives him strong net-front presence in the defensive zone where he is a shut down defender. He is also adept at breaking pucks out of the defensive zone and jumps into plays on the offensive end. He is strong on both the power play and penalty kill. He finished the season with six goals and 24 assists in 28 games. He most recently played with the Madison Capitals of the USHL where he scored his first goal on Friday. He is committed to the University of Minnesota-Duluth.

The Reed Larson Award is facilitated by Let’s Play Hockey.

Stout was also a finalist for Mr. Hockey and emerged as the winner of the Reed Larson Award as the state’s top blueliner. He is committed to the University of Minnesota-Duluth. LPH PHOTO BY JEFF ANDERSON

Previos Reed Larson Award winners:

2012-13Jake BischoffGrand Rapids
2013-14Luc SnuggerudEden Prairie
2014-15Jacob OlsonHill-Murray
2015-16Wyatt AamodtHermantown
2016-17Dylan SambergHermantown
2017-18Luke LaMasterDuluth East
2018-19Mike KosterChaska
2019-2020Wyatt KaiserAndover
2020-21Jack PeartGrand Rapids
2021-22Leo GrubaHill-Murray
2022-23Chase CheslockRogers