FINALISTS ANNOUNCED FOR 2024 MS. HOCKEY AWARD Let’s Play Hockey announced the five finalists for the annual Ms. Hockey Award. This year’s finalists are are Lindzi Avar (Minnetonka), Kate Kosobud (Moorhead), Ilsa Lindaman (Duluth Marshall), Ayla Puppe (Northfield), and Josie St. Martin (Stillwater). Collectively these players have scored 186 goals and added 174 assists for […]

Boys Hockey: Benilde-St. Margaret’s squeezes past Chanhassen; Minnetonka blanks Eden Prairie and remain undefeated

  No. 5AA Benilde-St. Margaret’s 2 , No. 4AA Chanhassen 0   Mason Minor scored the only two goals of the game for Benilde-St. Margaret’s as they shutout Chanhassen 2-0. BSM completes a very good regular season going 20-4-1. The Red Knights have put up 4.60 goals per game while allowing just 1.84. The latter stat […]

Boys Hockey: Hill-Murray flexes their muscles against Maple Grove; Top ranked Hermantown takes down Grand Rapids

    The Hill-Murray Pioneers play one of the toughest schedules in Class AA hockey. In recent weeks they dropped down to 16th in the rankings after an upset loss to Two Rivers, even though they outshot them 58-16. They then rattled off five wins against the likes of Stillwater, St. Thomas Academy, Grand Rapids […]

Roseau, Rosemount, Proctor/Hermantown and Orono punch tickets to state

No. 1 seeds have fallen in three of five finals so far  Having the No. 1 seed in sections hasn’t proven to be much of advantage through five section final games in girls hockey. Three of the five top seeds have failed to advance, giving credence to the depth and parity of quality teams in […]

Class AA Sections heat up as teams eye trip to the X

Trek to the X continues on with section semifinals Section 1AA #8AA Northfield 2, Owatonna 1 OT Top-seeded Northfield survived a scare against No. 4 Owatonna, who took the Raiders to overtime before Mia Miller netted the game winner to lift them to the section final where they will face No. 2 seed Lakeville South. […]

Ms. Hockey Semifinalists announced

  Semifinalists announced for 2024 Ms. Hockey Award Let’s Play Hockey announced the 10 semifinalists for the annual Ms. Hockey Award. In 1997, Let’s Play Hockey held the inaugural Ms. Hockey Award banquet, honoring the second-ever Ms. Hockey, Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley. The inaugural award went to Roseville’s Winny Brodt as part of the […]

Semifinalists named for Jori Jones Award as top senior goaltender

Winner to be named Feb. 25 at annual Ms. Hockey Banquet Let’s Play Hockey announced the 10 semifinalists for the Jori Jones Award, given to the state’s most outstanding senior goaltender.  The award was recently named in honor of Jones, a 2022 semifinalist for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award who died last summer […]