:Saint Thomas Academy Head Hockey Coach Mike Randolph (kneeling, 3rd from left) earned his 700th career win on Saturday, Jan. 6, when the Cadets defeated the Tartan Titans. Randolph is just eight wins away from being the all-time winningest hockey coach in Minnesota high school history. PHOTO SUBMITTED

Longtime coach becomes third to reach 700; remains 8 wins shy of all-time record

MENDOTA HEIGHTS, Minn., Jan. 6, 2024 – With a victory over the Tartan Titans today, Saint Thomas Academy Head Hockey Coach Mike Randolph tallied his 700th career win. He’s just eight wins away from being the all-time winningest hockey coach in Minnesota high school history.

Mike Randolph

“Coach Randolph has had a tremendous career, and we are thrilled our Cadets could help him achieve this amazing milestone,” said Reed Hornung, director of activities and athletics at Saint Thomas Academy. “While we have a tough schedule this season, we’re hopeful Coach Randolph can notch eight more wins to become the winningest Minnesota high school hockey coach ever.”

Randolph has coached on the high school and collegiate levels for more than 45 years and was inducted into the Minnesota State High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2018. He has been head coach for the Cadets since 2022, after serving one year as an assistant coach.

Prior to joining the Cadets, Randolph was head coach at Duluth East for 32 years, leading the Greyhounds to the state tournament 18 times, earning the championship twice. In addition to his Hall of Fame honor, Randolph was the Class AA Coach of the Year in 2012-2013. Randolph previously coached at Duluth Cathedral, Duluth Denfeld, University of Minnesota-Duluth and the College of St. Scholastica.

As a player, Randolph played on the 1976 US Olympic Team, four years in the minors, two years in the British Columbia major juniors and four years for Duluth Cathedral High School.

Randolph is now ranked third all time with a chance to become the state’s all-time leader by season’s end.

Minnesota HS Boys Coaches Career Wins

Lorne GrossoRochester Mayo707-442-31
Roy NystromAlbert Lea705-502-24
Mike RandolphDuluth East/STA700-228-36
Willard IkolaEdina616-149-38
Bill LechnerHill-Murray595-258-38
Jeff LindquistBLM Jeff.Blake599-323-33
Jim O’NeillCretin-Derham Hall593-316-41
Tony SarslandElk River588-189-26
Ken PaulyBenilde-St. Margaret’s574-279-35
Larry RossInternational Falls566-169-21
Lee SmithEden Prairie547-223-40
Bruce PlanteHermantown547-197-23
Tom SaterdalenBloomington Jefferson545-167-21
Mark LoahrTotino-Grace538-335-31
Cliff ThompsonEveleth534-26-9
Wes BolinWoodbury533-426-46
Gordy GenzRoseville529-261-23
Curt Giles Edina508-162-28

BOLD = Active Coaches